Created on 27 August 2017

The Tana String Quartet was formed in 2010 to promote contemporary repertoire and enhance the relationship between composer and performer; they place no boundaries when selecting style or genre and often present classical repertoire alongside contemporary works.


Recognised by The Guardian as “impeccable players”, the quartet is recipient of an array of international awards from the Pro Quartet – CEMC foundation in Paris, the Verbier Festival Academy, the Union of Belgian Composers (Fuga Prize) and received the Octave for best exponents of contemporary music. In 2013, they were honoured at the HSBC European Music Academy Awards and premiered a cycle, Oración, a major cross-over project featuring both world and contemporary music, produced by the Abbaye de Royaumont in collaboration with the Aix-en-Provence festival.



Tana is the only European ensemble to have discarded conventional scores to perform from iPads, which they also use to accompany their educational work. A privileged partner with music research centres including: Centre Henri Pousseur in Liège, Belgium; gmem-CNCM in Marseille and ArtZoyd in Valenciennes, France, the quartet gave the first ever concert on hybrid instruments, premiering a piece by Peruvian composer Juan Gonzalo Arroyo. The new system is a major contribution to electronic music.

You are here:   首页MusicianQuatuor Tana

Contact Us

New Music Week
Shanghai Conservatory of Music
South Building 418
20 Fenyang Rd.
200031 Shanghai
Tel/fax: 0086 21 6431 3701
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.